Darling, Can’t You Hear Me SOS?

August 12, 2014 at 12:42 am (Hospitalizations, Medical, The Journey Towards Diagnosis) (, , , , , )

It’s now been officially a week since I have been admitted to Johns Hopkins. Although Rave and I both had tingly spidey-senses that a hospital trip was close at hand, we had no idea what we were in for.

I have been slow in telling people why I’ve been admitted, primarily because I’m still wrapping my brain around it and the effects it will have on my life going forward.

I have congestive heart failure. Specifically, right sided congestive heart failure, which is the rarer of the two. The doctors believe it was caused by my obstructive and central sleep apneas – a long story about which I am saving for another time.

I am requesting as strongly and seriously as I can that you do not ask questions or offer information (especially anecdotal or third-party info) about the causes, treatments, lifestyle adjustments, etc. THIS REQUEST PERTAINS TO THE INTERNET EVEN MORE SO THAN IN MEAT SPACE. One of the reasons I’ve been hesitant to post about this is because I am really not in a space to hear suggestions from everyone as to what to do next.

My second impetus for this post is more practical. In a perfect world, Rave would be here with me 24/7 until I was discharged. In the past, she’s done her best to attempt it but graciously accepted when she needed other people to step in. This time, things are much more challenging for us both as a unit and as two separate people.

What would be of help is people who could come and spend an entire evening with me (Ernie and Cookie Monsters may be warded against if necessary.). Throwing us a tank of gas (there are better turns of phrase, I’m sure) or helping us obtain parking passes. Specifically making plans to pick Rave up and take her to do de-stressful things. Rave may have some other ideas, and you may come up with ways to help that we didn’t think of.

I’m only going to add this next bit because I feel it’s necessary no matter how many times people have said it is not: Thank you from the bottom of my heart. We both loathe asking for assistance, especially with how generous our tribe has been for us, and we would NOT be asking if we saw many other alternatives.

Here’s the thing – I may be in here for another full week. In fact, that’s on the low end of the spectrum. It’s one of those visits where there is a goal to be met that can’t really be influenced by willpower or any kind of effort.

If you feel you want to help, contact us using our shared email address – delandrave @ gmail . com.

6 Comments

  1. sammyk1976 said,

    I wish I were closer. I have done what I can from here, for now. If there is more I can do, please let me know. I will be in Virginia the weekend of the 6th of September – I know it’s a bit far out (4th weekend from now), but I’d like to try to come up to visit…

  2. Duffi said,

    I am so sorry. Prayers & incense will be offered. Love & blessings.

  3. Del said,

    I should mention that I have no idea where the “Ernie and Cookie Monsters may be warded against if necessary” comment came from. Sometimes the goofballs makes me say/write things that assume you’ve heard whatever was going on in my head at the time. But I guess if anyone needs Sesame Street-based wardings, I am not adverse to giving it a shot. 🙂

  4. Virginia Carper said,

    I understand not wanting stories, comments etc. People care but sometimes they need a reminder as to the proper way to show caring. As for me, I will make offerings to the Roman Gods of Health and Healing on your behalf.

  5. Na co zwrócić uwagę przy kupnie drukarki? said,

    What’s up, its nice paragraph about media print, we all
    know media is a fantastic source of data.

Leave a Reply

