Just When You Thought We Were Done With That Silly Business

April 13, 2013 at 4:08 am (Uncategorized)

This is a quickie entry, because I’m in the G-d da*%$#@ hospital again.

The short version of the story is that for two weeks, I was feeling much worse than usual. Vacillating between sleeping 20 out of 24 hours in a day, and staying up all night due to pain/nausea. Excessive exhaustion. Mental confusion, like not being able to remember how to use my smartphone (at all). Etc. I felt crappy. I thought if I just took it super gently and got lots of rest it would get better. It did not.

Finally, I got this hair up my butt that these were all signs of liver toxicity, a side effect of one of my drugs. I go to the PCP, who agrees that I may be right, and suggests I go to the ER.

Long story short, it wasn’t my liver. It was a new pocket that has formed in my abdomen, a little smaller than the one they removed right after Christmas, and it is also infected. Right now, we’re trying the nuclear bomb approach, saturating my system in Vancomyacin and Zozyn. If that doesn’t work…well, we’ll cross that bridge when we get to it.

It looks like I will be in Johns Hopkins for at least a few days, probably closer to a week. If you want information on how to visit me, where to send flowers or other care packages, or anything else, please email Rave at ravesblood@gmail.com.

Thanks for your continued love, support, and understanding.

1 Comment

  1. Renee said,

    I’m incredibly relieved that it’s not your liver — who would have thought that I’d ever consider another infected pocket to be good news? I’ll be keeping you in my thoughts, at the very least.

Leave a Reply

