Crappy Birthday To Me!

October 12, 2012 at 7:26 pm (Medical)

Even though I received an avalanche of well wishes on Facebook and Twitter, my birthday included one of the worst doctor’s appointments since Dr. WLS. I had to see one of the Infectious Disease doctors at Johns Hopkins for a few reasons. It was my companion’s observation that someone may have told this doc that it was going to be a quick in-and-out thing, and when it turned out to be more complicated she got pissed.

Anyway, she gave me clearance for the panniculectomy; however, I’m feeling a little worried that she didn’t grasp the whole situation. When I started explaining things to her, she actually cut me off and told me that it really didn’t matter. So today, I called and lefy a message for the only helpful doctor involved in the whole affair: the general surgeon. When I saw her last, I told her about not hearing from the lead surgeon or being able to get an appointment with ID and she personally got both of them to respond. I have hopes she can right the ship and move me closer to getting an actual date.

In other news, I seem to have picked up a virus at some point that has left me with a painful lesion on my back. They tested it, but I never got a straight answer other than “well, it looks like it’s resolved”. I don’t call searing pain “resolved”, so maybe it’s time to call that awesome dermotologist in Frederick and see what he thinks.

I feel kinda bad for pre-emptively cancelling on events that I may have been able to attend, but I have to admit that taking a little break hasn’t been the worst thing in the world.

3 Comments

  1. Duffi said,

    Go see the derm. “Resolved” doesn’t mean “searing pain.” Happy Crappy birthday, young one. Sorry the shit spiral isn’t unspooling yet.

  2. Lisa said,

    What Duffi said.. searing pain isn’t anything resolved. I hope things start to pull together so that you can get done all the things you need to have happen so that you can finally start true healing. You are in my thoughts and prayers.

  3. EVCelt said,

    Hope things will improve soon. Holding you in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

