Benchmarks

October 5, 2012 at 1:35 pm (Medical)

A day doesn’t go by where someone I love asks me if I have learned the date of my surgery yet.

I have not.

I have certain benchmarks to meet – certain things have to happen – in order for me to be cleared for surgery, and they haven’t happened yet. Well, one did, in that I finally had my PICC line removed, and none too soon, as the entry site had become red and pus…how do you say “pussy” without sounding dirty? Anyway, it looked like it was getting infected, and that’s a bad thing.

In fact, it looks like a few opportunistic infections may have snuck up on me during this short reprieve, and each one needs to be treated before I can move on as well. I will know more about one of them next week, and it may add more than a month to the process if I’m unlucky. Some of these infections are pretty serious, and are making me feel very weak and unable to do very much around the house.

My drain is still being too productive to be removed, much to the surgeon’s surprise. I have to get down to 30ml a day, and I’m still averaging between 60-120ml.

What I have to focus on now is re-writing all of my medical proxy documents, like my advanced directives, since my soon-to-be-ex-spouse has indicated that he does not want to be a part of my experience. I’m not looking forward to it, but a new Will and such are definitely in order.

I’m feeling pretty awful, but life goes on, and I can’t afford to just lay in bed and do nothing. I’m doing the best I can with the resources I have to do what I can.

I have a feeling next week will have much more information. Or at least I certainly hope so.

4 Comments

  1. Sharon said,

    I still offer my help. If there is anything I can do, please let me know. Holding you in thought and prayer.

  2. EVCelt said,

    Pronouncing it “pus-y” sounds a little better. But it sill looks weird and yeah, kinda dirty.

    Holding you in my prayers…

  3. steelbluelily said,

    hoping for a safe journey back to good health for you, Del.

  4. Duffi said,

    Holding you in thought and God-talking. What steelbluelilly said, too.

Leave a Reply

