The Return of Dr. WLS?

August 15, 2012 at 4:43 pm (Uncategorized)

We thought we were rid of him, but oh no. Dr. WLS may be making a re-appearance in these tomes.

Lately, I’ve been having these cramping pains in my gut, and I noticed that part of my (rather large) belly has gone much more rigid to the touch. I mentioned to this my GP when I saw him a week ago, and he ordered an ultrasound.

I just got off the phone with my panicked GP’s fellow doctor, because my GP is on vacation; it seems I may have cystic lesions all over my surgical site and that’s a big deal and can I get a CT scan right away please? I’m a little freaked, but I’ve got a great assistant who’s been helping me with all this medical appointment stuff, so I have faith. But then she says the thing I didn’t want to hear:

“…and you should make sure that the results of the CT are sent to your surgeon.”

I will try to quote myself exactly: “I would prefer, that if there were any other surgeon you’re aware of on the whole planet who might be equally if not better qualified to handle my case, that you refer me to them. I had such a terrible, awful experience with Dr. [WLS] that I had to threaten contacting the Maryland Board of Physicians to make a misconduct complaint.”

The GP doctor agreed that maybe we should find another surgeon, but typically once a surgeon does a procedure, all follow up happens through that doctor. I am going to fight tooth and nail to stay out of Dr. WLS office if at all possible, but yeah, cystic lesions? Not fun. I really don’t know if I have a choice of having them removed by Dr. WLS or dying, which I would choose. It was really that bad.

10 Comments

  1. robin said,

    Its a shame something cant ….. Happen to him. šŸ™‚

  2. Divine Twin Diversions said,

    Finding another doctor is critical and I wouldn’t go back to that other doctor at all. Surely they wouldn’t refer you to someone that created THAT bad of an experience.

  3. Elizabeth said,

    OH NO! Dr. WLS must be shunned at all costs! Will keep fingers crossed for you that he does not rear his protein-shake-addled head in your life again šŸ˜›

  4. Fala said,

    Well. Shit. Hopefully a better solution comes soon. šŸ˜¦

  5. facingthefireswithin said,

    Well, that freaking sucks. Best of luck in finding a new surgeon and moving forward.

  6. Renee said,

    Because you needed more stress right now, right? I’m hoping you’ll find another surgeon willing to do follow-up on this.

    Perhaps if the situation is presented to the new surgeon as, “I’m not able to return to the surgeon who did this as an emergency procedure” she/he might be more willing to step in?

  7. zammis said,

    I would get another surgeon, and refuse ALL attempts to go back to that one. Period. If you are too tired to fight, get some of your team to keep fighting for you, get you to somewhere and someone else. Seriously.

  8. EVCelt said,

    That’s awful. I hope you win out and find a new surgeon. I will continue to keep you in my prayers.

  9. Raven said,

    I’m certain they cannot FORCE you back to Dr. WLS. You have rights as a patient, and I am willing to help you fight for them if you need another advocate.

  10. Wendy said,

    I’m pretty sure you have a right to see a surgeon who you don’t hate and who will make the experience better for you – I’m sure hospital policy says he should do the follow up and what not, but if its that bad – well, if they try to force you, I’d make that complaint to the board. Then his behaviour is on record, and you might have more of a foothold. Also, I’m not sure if you’ve looked into it, but there might be some sort of patient advocate system you could get involved in so someone else can fight on your behalf, coz its hard to calmly explain why this would be a bad situation for you when you’ve already been essentially traumatized by the guy. grr.

Leave a Reply

