Getting Back on Track

July 19, 2012 at 2:50 pm (Chronic Pain, Living With Chronic Illness, Medical) (, , , , )

This is for those who read just for the “what the heck is up with Del’s medical shite these days” posts.

For a while, I’ve been way off track. When Ninja had those seizures in January, I kinda used it as an excuse (albeit a good one) to focus on him and his needs, and with that came me putting my medical journey on pause. Then I had the menstrual issues and was dealing with that when the emergency surgery came out of left field. The surgery took a while to fully heal, and by then I was in the busy season for my job.

I just want to let you know that things are slowly getting back on track. I am getting those manly-part surgeries scheduled, likely for late August. I got all my test scripts from the neurologist re-issued and I start those next week. I did go to the dermatologist and get that taken care of. I am going to make a GP appointment to talk about some of the post surgery stuff I’m worried about (I’m pretty damn sure I still have marked edema on one side of my belly, and my abdomen is rigid in places close to but not directly next to where the surgery took place, which worries me a little.), as well as get advice as to which kind of doctor to see about the marked increase pain, and decreased mobility, in my legs.

I’ve decided to try to get back to the paleo-esque diet, although I’m hoping to create two little loopholes to make life more enjoyable. After Jon died, I kinda slipped off the wagon in a slippery slope that lead to me eating Nutter Butters and Mac and Cheese – absolutely not on the plan at all. I also got very stomach-sick when I did, which scares me a little for if I decide to chuck it altogether. But I keep reading that lots of people with chronic pain find solace in this no-grain business, so I’m giving it another go.

I’m also highly considering both a deep tissue masseuse (one that I got a taste from at DO: Fusion and really enjoyed) and a chiropractor. I’ve tried the latter before, but the guy I saw mostly cracked my back, set me up on a tens unit for half an hour, and then tried to sell me crap. Anyone got an awesome chiropractor in the Germantown/Gaithersburg/Rockville/Frederick areas? I’m willing to travel to someone who gets results.

There’s your purely medical update for now.

2 Comments

  1. Tina Lynn Peterson said,

    You might want to give the chiropractor another try. Because of my weight, I *do* go monthly, but the decrease in nerve pain and increase in mobility are well worth it. Mine will sell me devices/supplements, but only if I research them and bring it up first. I actually consider him my primary care physician, and he and my GP work together quite well.

  2. Divine Twin Diversions said,

    Diets are tough but I’ve found now that once I’ve been on a more healthy diet for awhile I get ill if I start eating unhealthy food. It takes time but it’s worthwhile to adjust your body’s food expectations IMO.

Leave a Reply

