Kick Me In the Crotch

March 22, 2012 at 4:31 pm (Medical) (, , , , , , , , )

This is one of those updates I really don’t want to write. It’s purely a medical update, and it’s important for people who know me to know about. I thought really hard about just emailing a handful of people about it and keep my mouth shut otherwise, but when I started this blog one of the promises I made was that I would post about medical things I am going through.

Not an accurate depiction of either procedure.

As you might have guessed from the title, this little escapade has to do with my manly parts. Seems there’s something odd happening, and they have to do two surgical procedures in hopes of both figuring out what’s going on, and hopefully fixing it.

I’ll know more on Monday, but the first procedure (D&C) will be pretty soon – perhaps as soon as next week. I have to wait for two weeks after that to undergo the second procedure (ablation).

This likely means that I will be mostly housebound for April. I had a D&C in 1996 and it took me many weeks to fully recover. Supposedly, the second one will be easier to heal, but since I’ll still be healing from the first one, I expect it will take a little longer.

I don’t feel like sharing some of the speculation about what might be wrong, although cancer has yet again been introduced into the “possible” column.

When this is over, I will be sterile. I’m okay with this.

And yes, because everyone else has asked, I did ask about a hysto, and was told that this is a better first shot in the war. If this doesn’t work, then we’ll be talking about a hysto.

I’m not really up for a lot of discussion about this. I’ll likely post on Facebook when I know when the procedures are.

This is a depiction of the second procedure. They left out the part where they electrocute my uterus.

8 Comments

  1. Eric S said,

    Luck and health my friend. Hugs too.

  2. Kate said,

    I hope things go as well as possible, and that you receive exceptionally good care while you’re in, and that the in-between & follow up are smooth.

  3. Alex said,

    Ugh, my thoughts are with you and your manly parts. What a kick in the ass. If you need an ear to bend, I’m here.

  4. Stephanie said,

    Wising you the best. Please, please let me know if I can do anything to make your recovery more pleasant. I’d be happy to bake fruity muffins, or whatever!

  5. Susan said,

    Damn – wish I could make ti all go away. 😦

  6. Emily B. Hall said,

    Let me know if you want me to come down and do anything – ‘d be more then happy to transport and sit and smile at people who walk by…

  7. Scott Mohnkern said,

    Yes, our thoughts from the Casa are with you

  8. Heathir said,

    Wishing you a smooth, short, and quick recovery. My thoughts are with you.

Leave a Reply

