Doctor Ethics and a Development.

October 21, 2011 at 7:01 pm (Medical) (, , , , )

Okay, an actual medical related post with no spooky foo, I promise.

After two months of run-around, I finally have my very own wheelchair in my possession. I plan to use it to lengthen the amount of time I can be out and about, as I have found that often it is too much walking that makes me both tired and in a lot of pain at the end of the day. So this addition is a good thing, in my book. And the diagnosis the pain doctor used to legitimize my prescription was myalgia/myositis, the latter of which is new in my book.

Now to the doctor ethics. I posted on some of this on Facebook, so you may already be acquainted with the situation. I had been seeing Dr. Ruth Jacobs, an infectious disease doctor in Rockville, MD for the past few years. The way I got to her was a little strange; I had been seeing another ID doc but when I was hospitalized with an infection he wasn’t available and sent her. I did six months of follow up with her, and in that way you get when you see the same doctor for a long time, got used to seeing her when I needed an ID doc.

Well, I saw her in February and it was her who found the TB. It was her who got me admitted when I was having the bad drug interaction between Rifampin and Fentanyl. It was also her who, after that experience, refused to treat the TB further and suggested I contact the local County Department of Health, which I thought was a little weird. In the middle of all of that, she noticed on my intake form that I had sex with multiple partners, and decided to give me a 30 minute lecture on STIs and how safer sex practices are not so safe. I tried to interject and explain that the sex I engage in is not all that risky, and that I actually knew quite a bit about safer sex practices and STIs – to no avail. I also noticed that when I came to appointments with my patient advocate, who is (sorry, hon) a pretty obvious butch lesbian, the doctor continually asked me where my husband was.

I never really thought about it until I needed to google her to find her office number. See, all week I had been trying to make an app0intment to see her (she wants to see me before re-starting the TB meds) and got really odd responses from her secretary. Once she asked if she could call me back, and never did. Another time she asked if I could call back tomorrow. A third time the phone rang and rang with no answer and no voicemail. So I thought maybe there was another number I needed to call to make an appointment, so off to google I went.

What I found were two YouTube videos.

Of the two I found, this was the least offensive. Obviously, a doctor with issues about the trans community may not be the best fit for me. I never discussed my gender stuff with her, so to her I probably just looked like a butch lesbian who happened to be in a hetero marriage. In this video, she represents a right-wing “Think Of the Children!” sort of activist group that is generally anti-gay, and claims that allowing trans people the right to not be harassed means that young girls will almost definitely see cock in women’s dressing rooms. Um, okay.

It is the next one that is pretty bad. I warn you, this video has been edited to give some of the worst comments up front, and then you get the mostly-unedited version of her testimony after the credits. This is the same doctor testifying to the DC governing body against gay marriage, but mostly she talks about HIV/AIDS, even after it is pointed out to her that one doesn’t have much to do with the other. Her point seems to be that legalizing gay marriage would force sex education classes to teach anal sex as being as normal and safe as vaginal sex, even though anal sex is “dangerous” and many people (especially young black men) get HIV from anal sex. If you’re wondering about lesbians, it’s addressed in the video.

Two things – although she uses medical language, it may not be completely work-safe (She talks about anal sex a lot), and it is really worth watching all the way through if you can, because one of the board members puts her in her place and it leaves you feeling better about the world.

So with all that in mind, I have decided to go to another Infectious Disease doctor. It may have been a GodHammer that kept me from being able to make the appointment until the Great Google told me of her wicked ways, or just dumb luck, but either way it’s probably for the best. I’m going back to the other ID doc, and may have to start some of this silly TB stuff all over again, but in the end I decided it’s worth it to be with a doctor I can be honest about who I am with and not have to worry about it affecting my level of care.

